You are here: Home » 2011 » July » Telangana Congress Legislators tenders resignation

Telangana Congress Legislators tenders resignation

July 4, 2011

The Telangana Congress Ministers, MPs and Legislators have submitted their resignations today to mount pressure on the Centre on the issue of separate statehood of Telangana. 25 MLAs, 12 MLCs, 11 ministers have submitted their resignations today.

11 Ministers have tendered their resignations and have sent their resignation letters through minister Jana Reddy. Ministers Jana Reddy, Geeta Reddy and Ponnala Lakshmiah reached the assembly along with the resignation letters of the ministers. Speaking to the media Jana Reddy clarified that their resignation is only to express the aspirations of the people of Telangana region and should not be viewed as defying the party's central leadership.

MLAs meet at Jana Reddy's residence

Earlier, the Ministers and MLAs who are tendering resignation today met at the residence of Panchayat Raj minister Jana Reddy. A resignation format that conforms to the standards was prepared and all the MLAs have signed their resignation letters. Meanwhile, Deputy Speaker Bhatti Vikramarka told the media that he will review the resignation letters.

MLA Gandra Venkata Ramana Reddy faxes his resignation

Bhupalapalli MLA Gandra Venkata Ramana Reddy who is in USA has tendered his resignation today. He has sent his resignation letter via fax to Deputy Speaker Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka.

Meanwhile, Jubilee Hills MLA Vishnu Vardhan Reddy has reached the assembly and has submitted his resignation letter to the Deputy Speaker. Speaking to the media before meeting the Dy. Speaker, Vishnu Vardhan Reddy said that he is the first to resign for the cause of Telangana statehood. He has called on the public representatives in the Greater Hyderabad area to tender their resignations for the cause of Telangana statehood.

Medchal MLA Kicchanagari Lakshma Reddy met the Deputy Speaker and submitted his resignation letter.

Minister Komati Reddy Venkat Reddy told the media that they have not received any call from the Congress party's central leadership and said that they will go to New Delhi only if the Congress party sticks to their December 9th announcement of carving out a separate Telangana state.

The Telangana MLA's belonging to the Telugu Desam Party will also tender their resignations today.

Telangana Congress MPs miss Speaker's appointment

The Telangana Congress MPs who has left to New Delhi to tender their resignations have missed the appointment given by Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar. Meira Kumar has given an appointment at 11am to the Telangana MPs. However, the Telangana MPs couldn't reach the Parliament in time. Speaking to the media, Meira Kumar confirmed that none of the Telangana MPs have met her today.


Recent Updates: