You are here: Home » 2011 » November » Resignations of Nagam and Prasanna Kumar Reddy accepted

Resignations of Nagam and Prasanna Kumar Reddy accepted

November 12, 2011

The Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker Nadendla Manohar Reddy has accepted the resignations of former TDP leaders Nagam Janardhan Reddy and N Prasanna Kumar Reddy. The move came as a surprise to many as the resignations of several MLAs were pending before the Speaker and the Speaker selectively chose Nagam and Prasanna Kumar Reddy's resignations. This has also caused a jitter among several Telangana MLAs whose reasons for resignations are similar to that of Nagam Janardhan Reddy, while they are not really keen on quitting.

Nagam Janardhan Reddy has submitted his resignation on July 24, 2011 citing that he is frustrated by the political parties who promised to support a separate Telangana state during election campaigning, but has largely ignored those promises after elections. He had subsequently quit the Telugu Desam Party and has launched Telangana Nagara Samithi. Janardhan Reddy has also approached the High Court yesterday urging to direct the Speaker to accept his resignation. Meanwhile, Prasanna Kumar Reddy has sailed with Jagan Mohan Reddy's YSR Congress Party and is facing a disqualification petition filed by the Telugu Desam Party.

Now that the resignations of Nagam Janardhan Reddy and Prasanna Kumar Reddy were accepted, the rest of the MLAs will face pressure from the people to get their resignations accepted.


Recent Updates: