You are here: Home » 2011 » November » Lok Sabha Speaker rejects Telangana MPs resignations

Lok Sabha Speaker rejects Telangana MPs resignations

November 15, 2011

The Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar has rejected the resignations of the 12 Telangana MPs who have submitted their resignation letters on July 4 demanding the separate Telangana state. The decision of the Speaker to reject the resignations was conveyed to the MPs on telephone by the Lok Sabha Secretariat officials. Out of the 12 MPs who resignations were rejected, 12 of them are from Congress, 2 from Telugu Desam Party and the other two are from Telangana Rashtra Samithi.

The Lok Sabha Speaker has not taken a decision on the resignation of Bhongir MP Komatireddy Rajgopal Reddy. As per the sources, the Speaker wanted to know if the MP has attended any official function after his resignation. Also, the Rajya Sabha Speaker Mohammed Hamid Ansari is yet to take a decision on the resignation of Rajya Sabha MPs K Keshava Rao and G Sudharani. While some view the rejection of resignations as favorable to the formation of Telangana state, the others are of the opinion to meet AICC president Sonia Gandhi.

Terming the decision to reject the resignations unfortunate, Warangal MP Siricilla Rajaiah said that the Speaker's decision to reject shows that the aspirations of Telangana people are heard at the Centre. He said that he is hopeful of getting a favorable decision on the formation of Telangana State before the end of Winter parliament sessions. Rajya Sabha member K Keshava Rao said that the MPs would attend the Winter sessions of the parliament and if no favorable decision comes before the end of the session they would resign again.

Nizamabad MP Madhu Goud Yaskhi said that they had already decided to attend the Winter sessions of the Parliament and they would raise the Telangana issue on the floor. The MPs will also meet Sonia Gandhi to apprise her of the situation, he said. Mahabubabad MP Balram Naik said that he would remain with Congress irrespective of the decision on Telangana and fight for the issue. Telugu Desam MP representing Adilabad Ramesh Rathod said that it is an insult that the Speaker didn't consult them before deciding to reject the resignations.

TRS floor leader Etela Rajender said that the latest move is a conspiracy by the Government against the Telangana movement as the Speaker didn't consult the MPs before rejecting the resignations. He said that it is a mockery of the democracy. TRS political JAC chairman M Kodandaram asked the MPs not to get depressed and use this opportunity to express their dissent on the floor during the winter sessions. CPI State secretary K Narayana said that there is no point in accepting the resignations as that would lead to bye-elections.


Recent Updates: