You are here: Home » 2011 » November » Resignations of 4 Telangana MLAs accepted by Speaker

Resignations of 4 Telangana MLAs accepted by Speaker

November 28, 2011

The Speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly Nadendla Manohar Reddy has accepted the resignations of four MLAs - T Rajaiah, Jupally Krishna Rao, Jogu Ramanna and Gampa Govardhan. While accepting the resignation of these four legislators, the Speaker has rejected the resignations of 61 other MLAs who submitted en masse.

With the approval of resignations of these four MLAs, there are now 7 vacancies out of the 294-member Assembly. The four MLAs whose resignations were accepted had openly declared that they had defected to the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party. Though, there was a scope of initiating action under the Anti-Defection Law against the four MLAs, the Speaker chose to accept their resignations.

Out of the 61 resignations that were rejected - 35 MLAs are from Telugu Desam Party, 24 from Congress, One from Praja Rajyam Party and an independent member Somarapu Satyanarayana. All the 24 MLAs of Congress who submitted their resignation along with Balinagi Reddy of TDP, switched their loyalties to the YSR Congress Party.

Vacancies in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly

There are now seven vacancies in the Andhra Pradesh assembly. The Speaker has approved the resignations of the following leaders so far.


Recent Updates: