You are here: Home » 2011 » October » TRS victorious in Banswada by-election

TRS victorious in Banswada by-election

October 17, 2011

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) emerged victorious in the Banswada by-election by a majority of over 50,000 votes. TRS candidate Pocharam Srinivas Reddy polled 83,845 votes, while his nearest rival Sangem Srinivas Goud of Congress could only secure 33,356 votes. The Telguu Desam Party which won the seat since the party's formation has not fielded a candidate. The Banswada by-election was held on October 13. Pocharam Srinivas Reddy who was with the TDP when he resigned to the Banswada MLA seat in March, has joined the Telangana Rashtra Samithi.

Speaking at a press conference after the party's thumping victory, K Taraka Rama Rao said that the Banswada by-election result reflects the mood of the people of Telangana in favor of a separate Statehood. He reminded that the people of the region have also elected all the 11 candidates of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi last year in by-elections.

APCC president Botcha Satyanarayana said that the party's candidate Srinivas Goud has infact did well as he managed to secure respectable number of votes and also the security deposit. He expressed confidence that the party could do well in the elections in future.

Total number of votes polled: 1.22 lakh (77.62%)
Pocharam Srinivas Reddy (TRS): 83,845
Sangem Srinivas Goud (Congress): 33,356


Recent Updates: