You are here: Home » 2011 » September » Congress nominates Srinivas Goud as candidate for Banswada Assembly byelection

Congress nominates Srinivas Goud as candidate for Banswada Assembly byelection

September 22, 2011

The Congress party has announced their candidate for the Banswada Assembly bypoll next month. Not heeding to the majority opinion of the Telangana Congress leaders not to field a candidate for the Banswada by-election, the Congress party has nominated Srinivas Goud as their candidate for the bypoll. The Banswada Assembly seat fell vacant after Pocharam Srinivas Reddy quit both the Assembly seat as well as to his Telugu Desam Party membership to fight for the self-respect of people of Telangana. He later joined the Telangana Rashtra Samithi party.

While announcing Srinivas Goud as the party's nominee, Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee president Botcha Satyanarayana said that as a national party Congress had decided to contest the polls. Congress would launch the campaign from September 29. Majority of the Telangana Congress leaders are of the opinion that the TRS has a strong hold on the seat and they would lose their security deposit if contested.

Botcha Satyanarayana met with Major Irrigation Minister P Sudarshan Reddy, Zaheerabad MP Suresh Shekar and MLC D Rajeswar Rao earlier before making the final decision. Nizamabad MP Madhu Yaskhi Goud announced that he would stay away from campaigning as the party leadership has not bothered to consult him while making the decision.

The last day for filing nomination papers is September 26 and the polling would take place on October 13.


Recent Updates: