You are here: Home » 2014 » April » TDP-BJP alliance confirmed - BJP to contest in 8 Lok Sabha and 47 Assembly seats

TDP-BJP alliance confirmed - BJP to contest in 8 Lok Sabha and 47 Assembly seats

April 6, 2014

Telugu Desam Party and Bharatiya Janata Party have finally come to a consensus on seat sharing in Telangana and Seemandhra regions. Addressing a joint press conference, TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu and BJP national leader Prakash Javedkar confirmed that both the parties will fight together in the coming elections.

According to the deal, BJP will contest in 8 Lok Sabha and 47 Assembly seats in Telangana region and in 5 Lok Sabha and 15 Assembly seats in Seemandhra. The final list of nominees contesting the elections will be announced in a couple of days. The leaders called the party workers of both TDP and BJP to campaign together to ensure victory.

Telugu Desam chief Chandrababu Naidu said that the decision to form an alliance with TDP was taken keeping in interests of the nation. Saying that the Congress party would definitely lose the elections, he lashed out at the corruption and scams during the 10 year rule of UPA. Akali Dal leader Naresh Gujaral who was present at the conference said that TDP is now part of the NDA. He said with the addition of Chandrababu Naidu the NDA is strengthened even more.

Meanwhile, the decision to fight the elections together has left some leaders from both the parties disappointed. BJP Telangana chief G Kishan Reddy who had stressed on the central leadership to contest in Telangana with TRS was reportedly sulking over the final decision. He did not attend the press conference arranged earlier today to announce the alliance.

TDP aspirant for Malkajgiri MP seat Mynampally Hanumantha Rao criticized party's decision to leave the seat to BJP. He met Chandrababu Naidu at his residence earlier and made clear of his disappointment in the decision. A large number of supporters of Mynampalli shouted slogans at Chandrababu's residence. While leaving, Mynampalli told the media that he is resigning to the TDP and will contest as an independent candidate.


Recent Updates: