You are here: Home » 2014 » May » Congress emerges as single largest party in Municipal polls

Congress emerges as single largest party in Municipal polls

May 12, 2014

The counting in 53 Municipalities in Telangana, Congress emerged as the winner with 23 on hand. In a surprise move, TRS was limited only to nine when the TDP-BJP alliance with two municipalities.

The Congress registered impressive wins in TRS base including Nizamabad and Warangal. However, TRS managed to win Karimnagar Corporation but failed to bag municipalities in its strongholds like Medak and Mahabubnagar. In an embracement to TRS chief KCR, the TDP won Gajwel Municipality from where the TRS chief was in the fray as MLA candidate.

The MIM opened its account by winning Bhanisa municipality in Adilabad district where the BSP won Nirmal municipality. The CPM secured majority in Mahabubabad municipality.

TPCC president Ponnala Lakshmaih speaking to media said that the 'people of Telangana have voted on expected lines. The civic body poll results have demonstrated that the electorate have reposed faith in the Congress for having fulfilled the long cherished dram of the people of Telangana. He said that the same trend would continue in the MPTC and ZPTC elections and later in the Assembly elections as well', he said.

TRS express satisfaction

The TRS leaders expressed satisfaction over the party performance. They said that they were the real gainers and the Congress and the TDP losers as they secured majority in fewer municipalities compared to last time. Till date, the TRS that did not have a majority in a single municipality has now secured the control of nine.


Recent Updates: