You are here: Home » Features » 2012 Bye-elections » Kamareddy 2012 Bye-election

Kamareddy 2012 Bye-election

2012 Bye-elections
Station Ghanapur

The bye-election for the Kamareddy constituency was held on March 18, 2012. The election was held along with Mahabubnagar, Nagarkurnool, Kovur, Station Ghanpur, Kollapur, Adilabad constituencies. Kamareddy is in Nizamabad district.

The bye-election was necessitated as the sitting candidate Gampa Govardhan resigned for the telangana cause. He subsequently quit the Telugu Desam Party and joined TRS.

68% voter turn out was reported for the Kamareddy bypolls.


TRS candidate Gampa Govardhan won the 2012 Kamareddy by-election defeating his nearest Congress rival Adla Raja Reddy by a margin of 44,465 votes. Raja Reddy managed to save his deposit, while TDP candidate N Venugopal Rao lost his. A total of 137,051 votes were polled in the Kamareddy constituency.


Nine candidates have contested for the Kamareddy assembly seat in the bye-election. The following are the candidates of various political parties who will contest the bypolls.

Total electorate: 2,03,143
Votes polled: 1,37,051

PartyCandidateSymbol allottedVotes polledPercentage
TRSGampa GovardhanCar75,69955.23%
CongressAdla Raja ReddyHand31,23422.79%
TDPN Venugopal RaoBicycle17,83913.01%
Rajyadhikara PartyKairamkonda YadagiriScissors12,2798.95%
Pyramid Party of IndiaRamulu BoyiniTelevision
IndependentKodipyaka Mahender GoudCoconut
IndependentPagidi SridharBat
IndependentRajanarsaiah TokalaGas Cylinder

The TRS party has nominated K Taraka Rama Rao as the party in-charge for the Kamareddy constituency.


March 18, 2012: Voting in the Kamareddy constituency goes peaceful. Mild tensions prevailed when TRS candidate Gampa Govardhan picked up a quarrel with Deputy SP J Ram Mohan Rao for not allowing him from entering the polling station. Govardhan questioned the DSP why the TDP chief polling agent Punna Rajeswar was allowed with his vehicle.

March 6, 2012: The CPI party has offered support to the TRS candidate Gampa Govardhan. CPI leaders Pallam Venkat Reddy and K Pratap Reddy called on the voters in the constituency to vote for the TRS party to strengthen the demand for Telangana statehood.

March 1, 2012: Taraka Rama Rao, who is the in-charge for TRS party has extensively campaigned on behalf of Gampa Govardhan for the bye-election in the constituency. He began his campaigning at 12 noon and has toured in Maddikunta, Ratnagiripalle, Reddipet, Annaram, Ellampet and Somarampet villages.

February 29, 2012: Last day for filing nominations for the bye-elections. Edla Rajireddy files nomination on Congress ticket. Gampa Govardhan files his nomination on TRS ticket.

February 27, 2012: N Venugopal filed his nomination papers on February 27, 2012 to contest from the Kamareddy constituency.