You are here: Home » Features » 2012 Bye-elections » Kollapur 2012 Bye-election

Kollapur 2012 Bye-election

2012 Bye-elections
Station Ghanapur

The bye-election for the Kollapur constituency was held on March 18, 2012. The election was held along with Mahabubnagar, Nagarkurnool, Kovur, Station Ghanpur, Adilabad, Kamareddy constituencies.

The bye-election for the Kollapur constituency was necessiated after Jupally Krishna Rao resigned both as a Minister and MLA.

75% turnout was reported for the Kollapur assembly bypolls.


TRS Candidate and former minister Jupally Krishna Rao defeated his nearest Congress rival M Vishnuvardhan Reddy by a margin of 15,024 votes to win the Kollapur by-election. A total of 151,030 votes were polled in the by-poll.


Nine candidates are in race for the Kollapur assembly seat in the bye-election. The following are the candidates of various political parties who will contest the bypolls.

Total electorate: 1,95,865
Votes polled: 1,51,030

PartyCandidateSymbol AllottedVotes PolledPercentage
TRSJupally Krishna RaoCar58,10738.47%
CongressM Vishnuvardhan ReddyHand43,08328.52%
TDPC Jagadeeshwar RaoBicycle35,28723.36%
CPI(M)MD JabbaarHammer, Sickle and Star3,9052.58%
IndependentGaganam MannemAuto-Rickshaw10,6487.05%
IndependentJerupati KurumurthyLetter Box
IndependentRagineni Devender RaoGas Cylinder
IndependentRagineni Ramakrishna RaoKite
IndependentM Shiva ShekarCeiling Fan

Jupally Krishna Rao tendered his resignation as Minister on June 1, 2011 in solidarity with the Telangana statehood. He quit the Congress party on October 28, 2011 and later joined TRS on October 30, 2011. Krishna Rao is the TRS candidate to contest the bye-election. On the other hand, the district in-charge of the TRS party Vishnuvardhan Reddy defected to the Congress party and is their candidate in the bye-election. Minister DK Aruna who is a known for her opposition to Krishna Rao is working hard to ensure his defeat in the bye-election. TDP is fielding Jagadeeshwar Rao in the bye-election.

2009 Result

Juppaly Krishna Rao won on Congress ticket in the 2009 election by a majority of 1,508 votes. Krishna Rao received 58,046 votes.
Total Voters: 2,14,047
Votes polled: 1,51,071


March 1, 2012: Jupally Krishna Rao campaigns aggressively in the Kollapur constituency. Dharmapuri MLA Koppula Eshwar accompanied Jupally for campaigning. Eshwar urged the people to vote for Krishna Rao to strengthen the cause of Telangana statehood.