You are here: Home » Features » 2012 Bye-elections » Mahabubnagar 2012 Bye-election

Mahabubnagar 2012 Bye-election

2012 Bye-elections
Station Ghanapur

The bye-election for the Mahabubnagar constituency was held on March 18, 2012. The election was held along with Nagarkurnool, Kovur, Station Ghanpur, Kollapur, Adilabad, Kamareddy constituencies. This is the second by-election in Mahabubnagar constituency after 1980 when Congress (I) MLA K Ram Reddy passed away.

The bye-election for the Mahabubnagar constituency was necessiated due to the demise of Independent MLA N Rajeswar Reddy on October 30, 2011.

The Mahabubnagar constituency has 42,000 Muslim voters which can play a role in the outcome of the election. The constituency has 1.86 lakh voters and has the highest literacy rate in the district.

70% voter turnout was reported for the Mahabubnagar byelection.


The 2012 Mahabubnagar by-election was a close contest. A total of 1,25,002 votes were polled in the by-election. Bharatiya Janata Party which contested in only this constituency in the by-elections managed to win the Mahabubnagar constituency by a slim margin of 1,879 votes. Yennam Srinivas Reddy beat his nearest TRS rival Syed Ibrahim. Congress came third and TDP came in fourth place in the elections.

17 postal ballot votes were found to be invalid. TDP candidate has lost his deposit.


Thirteen candidates are in race for the Mahabubnagar assembly seat in the bye-election. The bye-election is a contest between four key candidates. The following are the candidates of various political parties who will contest the bypolls.

Total electorate: 1,88,225
Votes polled: 1,25,002

PartyCandidateSymbol AllottedVotes polledPercentage
BJPYennam Srinivas ReddyLotus39,38531.50%
TRSSyed IbrahimCar37,50630.00%
CongressMuthyala PrakashHand25,33320.26%
TDPP ChandrasekharBicycle17,51814.01
Lok SattaMd. Ghouse MoinuddinWhistle4550.36%
Indian Minorities Political PartyNisar Ahmed BaigGas Cylinder4,7883.83%
Pyramid Party of IndiaSR PremaiahTelevision
IndependentAbdul Kareem Khaja MohammedCeiling Fan
IndependentGonela Mahender MudirajAuto-Rickshaw
IndependentJagadeesh ChandBattery Torch
IndependentD TimappaGas Stove
IndependentBekkari Sreenivas ReddyKite
IndependentSajida BegumCandles

N Vijayalaxmi, widow of former MLA Rajeswar Reddy has decided not to contest the bypoll. It was reported earlier that Vijayalaxmi will back the Congress party and will not contest the bye-election. Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy reportedly promised her due place in the party. However, after her supporters expressed concern, Minister for Information and Broadcasting DK Aruna met with Vijayalaxmi and her supporters on February 26 and convinced her not to contest. In a press conference, Vijayalaxmi said that she will support the Congress candidate Muthyala Prakash.

TDP will try to woo the BC voters in the constituency, particularly the Mudiraj community. The TRS sees the Mahabubnagar constituency as prestigious as its founder K Chandrasekhar Rao represents the Lok Sabha seat of Mahabubnagar. They will also try to bank on the minority community. BJP, on the other hand has fielded Y Srinivas Reddy who was the district unit chief of TRS party earlier.

The Lok Satta party also announced that it will contest in the Mahabubnagar constituency. The party announced that it would name the candidate on February 27.

2009 Result

N Rajeswar Reddy won as independent candidate in the 2009 election against his nearest rival Syed Ibrahim of TRS by a majority of 5,137 votes. Rajeswar Reddy received 38,247 votes.
Total Voters: 2,08,747
Votes polled: 1,16,609


March 13, 2012: BJP State President G Kishan Reddy said that Congress and TDP parties have no moral right to ask for votes in the bye-elections. Speaking to reporters in Hyderabad, Kishan Reddy said that BJP president Rajnath Singh and MP Smruthi Irani will campaign in Mahabubnagar.

March 11, 2012: Etela Rajender campaigns for TRS in Mahabubnagar. He advices TDP leader Motkupalli Narasimhulu to stop making irresponsible comments against KCR.

March 10, 2012: TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu campaigns in Mahabubnagar. His road shows gets good turnout.

March 9, 2012: The Telangana Political JAC says its fine with either BJP or TRS in the Mahabubnagar bye-election. Prof. Kodandaram says that both parties are committed to the formation of Telangana state and its up to the voters who they will choose to vote.

March 1, 2012: TRS candidate Syed Ibrahim campaigns in Mahabubnagar constituency. TRS politburo member Niranjan Reddy also campaigns for Ibrahim. Over 100 members have joined the TRS party on the occasion. The Osmania University JAC members also offered support to the TRS for the bypoll. TRSV leader Balka Suman joined the campaigning.

February 29, 2012: Last day for filing nominations for the bye-elections. Congress candidate Muthyala Prakash files his nomination papers.

February 27, 2012: TRS candidate Syed Ibrahim files his nomination papers to contest in the bye-election.