You are here: Home » Features » 2012 Bye-elections » Nagarkurnool 2012 Bye-election

Nagarkurnool 2012 Bye-election

2012 Bye-elections
Station Ghanapur

The bye-election for the Nagarkurnool constituency was held on March 18, 2012. The election was held along with Mahabubnagar, Kovur, Station Ghanpur, Kollapur, Adilabad, Kamareddy constituencies.

The bye-election for the Nagarkurnool constituency was necessitated with the resignation of Nagam Janardhan Reddy. Though the speaker Nadendla Manohar has rejected the resignation of Janardhan Reddy a couple of times, his resignation was finally approved on November 12, 2011.

70% voter turnout was reported for the Nagarkurnool byelection.


Independent candidate and former TDP leader Nagam Janardhan Reddy defeated his his nearest congress rival Kuchakulla Damodar Reddy by a margin of 27,325 votes. 1,40,554 votes were polled in the by-election. 86 votes were found to be invalid. TDP candidate lost his deposit.


Eleven candidates are in race for the Nagarkurnool assembly seat in the bye-election. There will be a keen contest between Janardhan Reddy and Damodar Reddy. The following are the candidates of various political parties who will contest the bypolls.

Total electorate: 1,91,484
Votes polled: 1,40,554

PartyCandidateSymbol AllottedVotes PolledPercentage
IndependentNagam Janardhan Reddy Founder of Telangana Naagara Samithi
Former TDP leader and MLA
CongressKuchakulla Damodar ReddyFormer Zilla Parishad chairmanHand43,67631.07%
TDPMarri Janardhan ReddyLeading textile showroom ownerBicycle18,60813.23%
IndependentAdula Janardhan ReddyAir Conditioner7,1835.11%
IndependentKandikonda BalarajuKite
IndependentChukka KeshavuluRing
IndependentBandi ChandrasekharRing
IndependentNagulaiah KavaliCandles
IndependentNagam Govardhan ReddyCeiling Fan
IndependentS SudhakarGas Cylinder
IndependentB SwamyTelephone

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi decided not to field a candidate for the Nagarkurnool constituency bye-election and instead decided to back Janardhan Reddy.

2009 Result

Nagam Janardhan Reddy won on TDP ticket in the 2009 election by a majority of 6,593 votes. Janardhan Reddy received 68,026 votes.
Total Voters: 2,14,403
Votes polled: 1,47,459


March 18, 2012: Voting at Nagarkurnool goes peaceful. TDP and Congress workers clash.

March 2, 2012: Independent candidate Nagam Janardhan Reddy alleged that TDP nominee Marri Janardhan Reddy and his wife Jamuna distributed money to women groups in several villages of Nagarkurnool. Speaking to reporters at his residence, he demanded a case should be filed against them and be investigated.

March 1, 2012: Supporters of Nagam Janardhan Reddy campaigns door to door.

February 29, 2012: Last day for filing nominations for the bye-elections. Telangana Nagara Samithi president Nagam Janardhan Reddy files his nomination papers.

February 28, 2012: Marri Janardhan Reddy files nomination papers on TDP ticket to contest in Nagarkurnool bypolls.