You are here: Home » Features » 2014 Elections in Telangana

2014 Elections in Telangana

The 2014 Lok Sabha and Assembly Elections in Telangana region was held simultaneously on April 30, 2014.

The Elections was held in United Andhra Pradesh and the Assembly will be split into two on Appointed Date of June 2. Telangana will get 119 Assembly seats and 17 Lok Sabha seats. For elections in residual Andhra Pradesh (Seemandhra and Rayalaseema) check 2014 Andhra Pradesh Elections.

The 2014 elections will be a fight between political parties who claim responsibility for the formation of Telangana state. Both Telangana Rashtra Samith and Congress claim that it was due to them that the Telangana state was formed. TRS claims that it was their president K Chandrasekhar Rao whose determination led to the formation of Telangana state. Congress claims that it was due to their president Sonia Gandhi that Telangana state was formed.

Campaigning for the first phase of elections in Andhra Pradesh ended on April 28, 2014. Telangana will go into polls on April 30. Chief Electoral officer Bhanwar Lal said that 30,518 polling stations were set up to ensure smooth polling. Four lakh staff including 1.4 lakh security personnel are on poll duty. Number of voters in first phase is 2,81,75,055. 265 candidates are in fray for parliamentary polling and 1,669 candidates are contesting assembly constituencies. Live web telecasts would be done in 16,500 polling stations. Apr 28, 2014


PartyAssemblyLok Sabha
Telangana Rashtra Samithi063011
TDP + BJP02002

Important Dates

District-wise Elections


Election Commission has announced that re-polling was held in 12 polling stations in Telangana. The decision was taken based on the reports from CEO and returning officers as well as the complaints received from contesting candidates. The repolling would be held on May 13.

Political Parties



Congress claims the credit for formation of Telangana State. Telangana Congress leaders say that it is due to their president Sonia Gandhi that led to the formation of Telangana. Congress has hoped that TRS merges with them. But eventually TRS ruled out a merger. After TRS ruled out an alliance with Congress, the Congress party announced that it will contest from all Assembly constituencies and Lok Sabha constituencies.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi

Telangana Rashtra Samithi

Telangana Rashtra Samithi took credit for the formation of Telangana state. The party claims that without the determination of their president K Chandrasekhar Rao, the Telangana state would have never been formed. The party has also a lot of support from Telangana people who believe that TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao's relentless pursuit that eventually led to the formation of Telangana state. TRS has ruled out both merging with Congress and an alliance in the 2014 elections. Many Congress sitting MLAs and politicians have joined TRS before the elections. The party is contesting the elections alone and is targetting to form the first government in the Telangana state.

Telugu Desam PartyBharatiya Janata Party

Telugu Desam Party and Bharatiya Janata Party have formed an alliance to contest the 2014 elections. According to the seat sharing deal, BJP will contest in 8 Lok Sabha and 47 Assembly seats in Telangana region. TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu said that the alliance is in the interests of the nation.

TDP cannot claim credit for formation of Telangana state. Their chief N Chandrababu Naidu's "two-eyed theory" has not gone well with the people of Telangana.


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is the main opposition party at the Center prior to the elections. In the State, they won two Assembly seats in the previous election. BJP has given support to the Telangana Bill at the Parliament and helped in the formation of Telangana state. BJP claims that it is because of their support that the UPA Government at Centre succeeded in getting the Telangana Bill passed. The BJP also claims that they have stuck to their promise of formation of Telangana state.

YSR Congress Party

YSR Congress is contesting in general elections for the first time. The party is a strong supporter of a united Andhra Pradesh, which hasn't won many friends for them in Telangana. However, YSR Congress chief Jagan Mohan Reddy has said that they will contest the 2014 elections and that they stressed for united Andhra only to keep the Telugu people united. The party has maintained a strategic silence when asked about its support for Samaikyandhra. The party is contesting in 98 Assembly and 11 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana. For more information, check YSR Congress Party in Telangana.

Communist Party of India

The CPI party is looking for seat sharing with Congress in the 2014 elections. Discussions are going on between the parties. The party has released its manifesto for the elections.

Salient features of the CPI's manifesto for 2014 elections


MIM party has decided to contest in six Lok Sabha and 40 Assembly seats in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh in the 2014 general elections. The party has won Hyderabad Lok Sabha and seven Assembly seats in 2009 elections.The party will field candidates for Hyderabad, Secunderabad, Nizamabad, Anantapur, Kurnool, Mahbubnagar and Medak Lok Sabha constituencies.

The party succeeded in getting "Kite" as its symbol for the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections.

Communist Party of India (Marxist)

CPI(M) has decided to field candidates in Khammam, Nalgonda and Bhongir Lok Sabha seats and five Assembly constituencies. On 26 March 2014, the party has released its first list of nominees for the Assembly and Lok Sabha elections.

Other Parties

There are several other political parties in Telangana region that were registered with the Election Commission of India. Though they may not make much impact on the poll results, some of these parties may field candidates for the elections. The parties include:

Telangana Sakalajanula Party, Telangana Praja Samithi of Warangal, Telangana Praja Party, Telangana Lok Satta Party, Telangana Congress Party, Nava Telangana Party, National Telangana Rashtra Samithi, Jai Telangana Party, Maa Telangana Party, Yuva Telangana Party, and also the Thalli Telangana Party.


In a survey conducted by NDTV jointly with Hansa research group, TRS is predicted to win 11 out of 17 Lok Sabha seats in the 2014 Parliamentary elections. Congress could win 5 seats, while MIM will win one seat. The survey results were announced on March 14, 2014. TRS which won 2 seats in 2009 elections, will gain 9 seats, while Congress is set to lose 7 seats. TRS is predicted to get 33% vote share compared to Congress - 27%, BJP - 15%, TDP - 8% and others - 17%.

Trivia & Facts

Vote Share - 2004 & 2009 Elections

Telugu Desam18.75%31.81%