You are here: Home » Features » 2014 Elections - Hyderabad » 2014 Sanathnagar Assembly Constituency Elections

2014 Sanathnagar Assembly Constituency Elections

The 2014 Sanathnagar Assembly Elections was held on April 30, 2014. The counting of polls was taken up on May 16, 2014. The election is held to elect the MLA representing Sanathnagar constituency in Assembly. Marri Shashidhar Reddy belonging to Congress Party was the sitting MLA.

Telugu Desam Party candidate Talasani Srinivas Yadav defeated his TRS rival Dande Vithal by a margin of 27461 votes.

Extent of Sanathnagar Assembly Constituency


Talasani Srinivas YadavTelugu Desam56475
Dande VithalTelangana Rashtra Samithi29014
Marri Shashidhar ReddyIndian National Congress23820
Vellala Ram MohanYuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party5833
Hymavati SagiLok Satta Party3975
Ambika KrishnaAam Aadmi Party1235
Dagilla Dayanand RaoBahujan Samaj Party515
Cherlapally Neetha GoudJai Samaikyandhra Party362
Gajadhar Gajju KolariyaShivsena357
S Sambhu KalyanPyramid Party of India342
Basa KrupanandamIndian Christian Secular Party276
B ChandrashekarIndependent240
Mohd Ather HussainIndian Union Muslim League220
Ramesh RavuriIndependent215
Ranjit Kumar SanghishettyMajlis Bachao Tahreek144
Mahip JainIndependent141
Putnala Rajeshwar (Rajanna)Janata Dal (United)134
M K Ibrahim AliNava Bharat National Party102
Basanti RajpurohitBharat Uday Mission97
Anki Reddy Gopi KrishnaIndependent80
Nandikanti Sai KumarBahujan Mukti Party65
Praganapuram SagarTelangana Loksatta Party63
None Of The AboveNone of the Above1041

Congress - Marri Shashidhar Reddy

Marri Shashidhar Reddy is the sitting MLA. Telangana Pradesh Congress has already announced that the sitting candidates will receive party tickets to seek re-election. Marri Shashidhar Reddy has represented Sanathnagar constituency three times, in 1994, 2004 and 2009.

Shashidhar Reddy says that winning four Assembly elections is the testimony to the confidence people have in him. He says that he and his supporters always keep in touch with his constituents and would respond to every complaint brought to their notice. He says that Rs. 200 crore worth of works in his constituency including laying of roads, drainage and water lines, setting up streetlights and development of parks were made possible because of him. Though he was able to get a project sanctioned under JNNURM scheme for construction of 200 housing units in Bhoiguda, he claimed that TDP leader Talasani Srinivas Yadav misled the beneficiaries.

Telugu Desam Party - Talasani Srinivas Yadav

Talasani Srinivas Yadav counters Shashidhar Reddy's claims. According to Srinivas Yadav, it is Telugu Desam Party that developed the city including the IT corridor. It was during TDP's regime that the city has won awards for clean and green. He claims that Shashidhar Reddy as NDMA vice-chairman always stays in Delhi and is never in touch with his constituents. There has been no development and the constituency is in bad shape, says Talasani. The only reason why Shashidhar Reddy won the 2004 and 2009 elections is because of Congress and YSR wave, he said.

2014 Elections in Hyderabad
AssemblyMusheerabadMalakpetAmberpetKhairatabadJubilee HillsSanathnagarNampallyKarwanGoshamahalCharminarChandrayanguttaYakutpuraBahadurpuraSecunderabadSecunderabad Cantt. (SC)
Lok SabhaSecunderabad Lok SabhaHyderabad Lok Sabha


Warning: setcookie() [function.setcookie]: It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set() function. In case you used any of those methods and you are still getting this warning, you most likely misspelled the timezone identifier. We selected 'Asia/Calcutta' for 'IST/5.0/no DST' instead in /home/andhran1/public_html/ on line 78

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/andhran1/public_html/ in /home/andhran1/public_html/ on line 78