You are here: Home » Features » About Telangana

About Telangana

Telangana state

The Telangana state is the 29th State in India. It was a region of the state of Andhra Pradesh before it was split. The AP State Reorganization Bill 2014 was passed by Parliament in February 2014 and was given the presidential assent allowing the formation of State. The Telangana state is due to become a separate state on June 2, 2014.

The Telangana State will come into existence on June 2, 2014 as it was the appointed date as notified in the gazette notification. The formation of Andhra Pradesh (residuary state of Andhra Pradesh state) will also be on the same day.

Before the region was carved out a separate state, it was an integral part of Andhra Pradesh state in India. The Telangana region was merged into the Andhra state in 1956 to form Andhra Pradesh. With an area of 114,840 sq. kms, the Telangana region has a population of over 3 crores as per the 2001 census.

Telangana State Movement

Telangana has witnessed several struggles for the formation of a separate State. It was in 2014 that the Centre has finally made Telangana into a seperate State. Lok Sabha, the lower house of Indian Parliament, has passed the AP State Bifurcation Bill 2013 (also known as Telangana Bill) on February 18, 2014. Two days later, Rajya Sabha has passed the bill paving way for the formation of Telangana State.

The Union Government has begun the process of bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh after the bill is passed in both the houses of Parliament. The Bill is likely to be sent to President Pranab Mukherjee for his assent on February 24. Once the bill has the Presidential assent, a gazette notification will be issued which includes the Appointed Date, the date on which the Telangana State is officially formed.

President Pranab Mukherjee has given his assent to AP State Reorganization Bill 2014 (Telangana Bill) on March 1, 2014 granting the formation of Telangana state. The gazette notification will be issued next week which will include the Appointed Date for the new states.

Centre issued the gazette notification on formation of Telangana as 29th state. The notification however hasn't mentioned the Appointed Date, which will be done in a separate gazette notification. Mar 2, 2014

Important Dates

July 30, 2013Congress Working Committee (CWC) approves resolution for bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh
October 3, 2013Union Cabinet approves division of Andhra Pradesh
December 5, 2013Cabinet approves Telangana draft bill prepared by Group of Ministers (GoM)
February 18, 201415th Lok Sabha, lower house of Parliament, approves Telangana Bill
February 20, 2014Rajya Sabha passes Telangana Bill amid din
March 1, 2014President Pranab Mukherjee gives assent to Telangana Bill, Gazette notification issued
April 30, 2014Assembly Elections for the first ever government in Telangana.
May 16, 2014Telangana Rashtra Samithi attains majority in the elections. KCR set to become the first ever Chief Minister of Telangana State
June 2, 2014Formation Day of Telangana State

Public Representatives

The Telangana region has 119 Assembly seats and 17 Lok Sabha seats.

Districts in Telangana

The Telangana region comprises of 10 districts.

Public Representatives

Telangana JAC

A Joint Action Committee (JAC) is formed to fight for the cause of Telangana statehood. The following are some of the main leaders of the Telangana JAC.

Other leaders