You are here: Home » Features » T Rajaiah

T Rajaiah

Dr. Thatikonda Rajaiah is the deputy Chief Minister of Telangana, Minister for Medical & Health and a TRS politician. He is an MLA representing Station Ghanpur constituency. Rajaiah won the 2012 bypoll of Station Ghanpur assembly constituency.

Rajaiah was born in Warangal in a backward madiga community. In the 2009 assembly elections, Rajaiah defeated TDP candidate and former Minister Kadiyam Srihari.

Entry to TRS

On October 29, 2011, Dr. Rajaiah announced that he will quit the Congress party to join the Telangana Rashtra Samithi. He joined the Telangana Rashtra Samithi party on October 30, 2011. He has refuted allegations of several congress leaders that they have joined TRS for personal gains.

On 28 November 2011, the Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker Nadendla Manohar Reddy has accepted his resignation.

2012 Bye-Election

T Rajaiah contested the 2012 Station Ghanpur bye-election on TRS ticket. He won the bypoll by a majority of 32,638 against his nearest TDP rival Kadiam Srihari.